Additive Manufacturing

We believe in innovation and love modern technologies.
Smart manufacturing is the way we give all our passion for.


Additive Manufacturing of large metal structures often refers to WAAM® or Wire Arc Additive Manufacturing. Our System uses a Direct Energy Deposition (DED) technology, that is flexible to use a single wire, multi wires or even powders as feedstock for the additive building process. We call this technology Plasma Metal Deposition - PMD, using a plasma torch as the heat source. Plasma welding has the advantage of an excellent weld pool control, with high stability for the energy impact independent to the distance range between torch and building platform.

When it comes to material properties in Additive Manufacturing, it is essential to understand all parts of the metallurgical build-up process. SBI knows how to build their own power sources, tune the electronics and customize the plasma arc characteristics. That's why RHP has chosen SBI as the partner for innovative future developments to be based on Plasma Metal Deposition AM.

— Dr. Erich Neubauer, CEO RHP-Technology GmbH

Our M3DP AM machines are CNC guided SBI plasma printing systems for Wire Arc Additive Manufacturing and Powder Arc Additive Manufacturing. The plasma torch is moved by a CNC gantry system along an arbitrary path and creates a weld pool on a substrate plate. By adding wire into the weld pool material deposition is achieved. Putting one deposition over the previous a desired part can be generated.

Processing a high variety of materials with the M3DP or M3DP-SL

M3DP

The SBI Additive Manufacturing Machine for highly productive industrial use. Quality control, data collection and easy use make this machine the best in class for large AM parts.

M3DP-SL

With the M3DP scientific line SBI offers a flexible Additive Manufacturing System for smaller production volume, research groups, universities and creative users, that are interested in pushing technology borders.

M3DP

M3DP-SL

Dimensions

5000x2400x4200mm (X-Y-Z)

1700x1400x2600mm (X-Y-Z)

Build volume

2000x600x600mm (X-Y-Z)

ø400x500mm (X-Y-Z)

Mass

6.500 kg

3.500 kg

max payload

650 kg

250 kg

airtight system

yes - optional available

yes - standard

feedstock

metal wire & powder
single and multi-feeding options

metal wire & powder
single and multi-feeding options

energy source

plasma arc (PMD)

plasma arc (PMD)

typical deposition rates

10 kg/h for nickel base alloys
5 kg/h for titanium

10 kg/h for nickel base alloys
5 kg/h for titanium

PMD is a “near net shape” process and means that post processing like lathing and milling are almost always necessary. The process works with all fusion weldable metals like steel, nickle-base alloys, titanium, aluminium,...

Compared to other DED and LMD systems, the M3DP offers high feed and build up rates for a variety of metal feedstock.

Our AM technology used for the M3DP is a Direct Energy Deposition (DED) process called Plasma Metal Deposition (PMD)

PMD is an AM technology for:

-big parts with good structural integrity
-high deposition rates
-high versatility, works with both wire and powder
-good scalability
-excellent economical potential

Additive Manufacturing

Wir glauben an Innovation und lieben moderne Technologien. Smart Manufacturing ist die Art und Weise, f├╝r die wir all unsere Leidenschaft geben.


Die additive Fertigung gro├čer Metallstrukturen bezieht sich h├Ąufig auf die additive Fertigung mit WAAM┬« oder Drahtlichtbogen. Unser System verwendet eine DED-Technologie (Direct Energy Deposition), die flexibel ist, um einen einzelnen Draht, mehrere Dr├Ąhte oder sogar Pulver als Ausgangsmaterial f├╝r den additiven Bauprozess zu verwenden. Wir nennen diese Technologie Plasma Metal Deposition - PMD, bei der ein Plasmabrenner als W├Ąrmequelle verwendet wird. Das Plasmaschwei├čen hat den Vorteil einer hervorragenden Schwei├čbadkontrolle mit hoher Stabilit├Ąt f├╝r den Energieeinschlag unabh├Ąngig vom Abstandsbereich zwischen Brenner und Bauplattform.

Wenn es um Materialeigenschaften in der additiven Fertigung geht, ist es wichtig, alle Teile des metallurgischen Aufbauprozesses zu verstehen. SBI wei├č, wie man eigene Stromquellen baut, die Elektronik abstimmt und die Plasma-Lichtbogeneigenschaften anpasst. Aus diesem Grund hat RHP SBI als Partner f├╝r innovative zuk├╝nftige Entwicklungen ausgew├Ąhlt, die auf Plasma Metal Deposition AM basieren.

ÔÇö Dr. Erich Neubauer, CEO RHP-Technology GmbH

Unsere M3DP AM-Maschinen sind CNC-gesteuerte SBI-Plasmadrucksysteme f├╝r die Herstellung von Drahtlichtbogenadditiven und die Herstellung von Pulverlichtbogenadditiven. Der Plasmabrenner wird von einem CNC-Portalsystem entlang eines beliebigen Pfades bewegt und erzeugt ein Schwei├čbad auf einer Substratplatte. Durch Hinzuf├╝gen von Draht zum Schwei├čbad wird eine Materialabscheidung erreicht. Wenn eine Ablagerung ├╝ber die vorherige gelegt wird, kann ein gew├╝nschtes Teil erzeugt werden.

Verarbeitung einer Vielzahl von Materialien mit dem M3DP oder M3DP-SL

M3DP

Die SBI Additive Manufacturing Machine f├╝r den hochproduktiven industriellen Einsatz. Qualit├Ątskontrolle, Datenerfassung und einfache Bedienung machen diese Maschine zur Klassenbesten f├╝r gro├če AM-Teile.

M3DP-SL

Mit der M3DP-SL scientific line bietet SBI ein flexibles additives Fertigungssystem f├╝r kleinere Produktionsmengen, Forschungsgruppen, Universit├Ąten und kreative Anwender, die daran interessiert sind, technologische Grenzen zu ├╝berschreiten.

M3DP

M3DP-SL

Abma├če

5000x2400x4200mm (X-Y-Z)

1700x1400x2600mm (X-Y-Z)

Bauvolumen

2000x600x600mm (X-Y-Z)

├Ş400x500mm (X-Y-Z)

Gewicht

6.500 kg

3.500 kg

max Payload

650 kg

250 kg

Inertgassystem

yes - optional available

yes - standard

Feedstock

metal wire & powder
single and multi-feeding options

metal wire & powder
single and multi-feeding options

Energiequelle

plasma arc (PMD)

plasma arc (PMD)

typische Abscheideraten

10 kg/h for nickel base alloys
5 kg/h for titanium

10 kg/h for nickel base alloys
5 kg/h for titanium

PMD ist ein Prozess nahe der Netzform und bedeutet, dass eine Nachbearbeitung wie Drehen und Fr├Ąsen fast immer erforderlich ist. Das Verfahren funktioniert mit allen schmelzschwei├čbaren Metallen wie Stahl, Nickelbasislegierungen, Titan, Aluminium, ...

Im Vergleich zu anderen DED- und LMD-Systemen bietet der M3DP hohe Zufuhr- und Aufbauraten f├╝r eine Vielzahl von Metall Feedstock.

Unsere f├╝r den M3DP verwendete AM-Technologie ist ein DED-Verfahren (Direct Energy Deposition), das als Plasma Metal Deposition (PMD) bezeichnet wird.

PMD ist eine AM-Technologie f├╝r:

- Gro├če Teile mit guter struktureller Integrit├Ąt

- hohe Abscheideraten

- hohe Vielseitigkeit, funktioniert sowohl mit Draht als auch mit Pulver

- gute Skalierbarkeit

- ausgezeichnetes wirtschaftliches Potenzial